Naren Biswas Award 2008

Artistes recalled the contribution of Naren Biswas at a programme at the Shaukat Osman Memorial Hall of the Central Public Library in Dhaka on Thursday.

Cultural organisation Kanthashilan organised the programme marking the 10th anniversary of death of Naren Biswas.

Anjali Biswas, widow of Naren, also attended the programme.

The organisers also honoured Professor Khan Sarwar Murshid with the Naren Biswas Award 2008 for his contribution to the field of literature.

Murshid received a crest and Tk 10,000 from Mir Barkat, who presided over the programme.

The organisers said that they had honoured an eminent person each year with the award.

In previous years, Nazim Mahmud (posthumous), Golam Mustafa, Nikhil Sen, Ashraful Alam, Sanjida Khatun, Niranjan Adikari, Pradip Ghosh from India, Poet Shamsur Rahman (posthumous) and Bhaswar Bandhopadhaya received the award.

The programme began with screening a 10-minute documentary show on Naren Biswas. After the show titled Amader Naren Sir, the organisers placed flowers at the portrait of Naren.

Fatal error: Uncaught Exception: 12: REST API is deprecated for versions v2.1 and higher (12) thrown in /home/bshowbiz/public_html/wp-content/plugins/seo-facebook-comments/facebook/base_facebook.php on line 1273